Coming Full Circle… Yes, We’re Still Protesting This Shit…

In the wake of yet another hateful event that has taken place at my school, I have felt the need to add my 2 cents. This time I was not the direct target of this act, as a pompous prick thought it was appropriate to scratch the word “fag” into the door of a fellow Eph and I do not identify as Queer. I must admit that my heart hurts much less than it did in November. At first I was dismayed and I was trying to figure out why I did not feel so sorrowful.

Was it because I can’t completely relate to what happened?

Was it because it actually doesn’t matter to me?

No… I now realize that my heart hurts less because when I was brought down to the lowest of lowest, left to drown in a sea of despair because some asshole wanted to write “ALL NIGGERS MUST DIE” in the bathroom of a student dorm, I was saved by the love, affection, and displays of support of my Williams College Community.

I feel that I need to repeat that… MY WILLIAMS COLLEGE COMMUNITY.

I, personally, am sick and tired of questioning my right to be a Williams Student. I am tired of questioning my existence. I am tired of having to be a spokes person for minorities. I am tired of having to explain to people why I am passionate about the Black Student Union. I am tired of having to explain to people that I am a member of the Black Student Union and happy at Williams, as if the two were such foreign concepts. And lastly, I am sick and tired of watching people who have given of their time and themselves to create a beautiful Williams College Community, some through extra effort and some through their mere presence alone, to have it all seemingly undone by the ignorance of one person.

So, as the names and faces of so many people pass by in my mind right now… of the many beautiful and truly wonderful people it has been my pleasure to meet as an Eph… I want you to know… we DESERVE to be HERE. This is OUR school and the actions of one, two, twenty, or two-thousand ignorant people will not change that fact.

As for the title of this post, reading the email sent by President Falk today made me think of the title someone used for the first post on this BSU Blog, which I see as fitting as it helps me to understand the way I currently feel.

To all the friends buzzing around in my mind and heart right now. “YES, WE’RE STILL PROTESTING THIS SHIT” and the fact is that we always will be protesting this shit. Whether in our minds, in our hearts, in our actions, or in our existence, we will continue to protest this shit and it all starts by explicitly claiming the things that have always been ours: our humanity and identity.

I hope this sheds some light on how I feel right now

In solidarity…

2 responses to “Coming Full Circle… Yes, We’re Still Protesting This Shit…

  1. Ditto, Brian. 🙂

  2. nice post, its sad that people can’t comprehend a life free of bigotry. it’s so stupid what some people think is entertaining. would you say that life is difficult for black students at Williams? i’ll b there this fall 🙂

Leave a Reply

