What Do You Make Of This?-Final Post From Me…

Yea, I’m retired, but I figured I’d share anyway. Came across this on my facebook newsfeed and I thought I’d share. Thoughts? Comments? Concerns? Hit me up on facebook.

This will also be my last blog post. It has been a pleasure posting on this blog. It has been real Williams College. I’m sure you’ll continue to thrive as the years pass.

A few parting words though. I’ve been thinking a lot about what it takes to build a community, or even a family. The truth is, there is no perfect way to do so. If one had been discovered, divorce would be an irrelevant term and wars would not exist. People are too different and with difference comes conflict. So, why bother trying to build such things since we all wont be able to get along?

Looking back on the last 4 years I’ve spent at Williams, and this video clip, a community is never something that can be expected, regardless of racial, gender, political, or socioeconomic identification. Our experiences dictate a large chunk of our personalities and our experiences are becoming increasingly more diverse and equally as unpredictable as anticipating someone’s racial background. And yet we still seek one out that makes us feel comfortable and, more often than not, we expect to find that within our own groups. There en lies our conundrum. We want something to make us feel comfortable, but that something is getting harder and harder to find. How do we find this illusive “White Whale” despite the seas become more and more difficult to navigate?

The point is, we try to form communities and families because we know that, despite the obstacles, hardships, and differences, there is something we stand to gain by being in harmony with our fellow woman and man. Arguments are to be expected, but the timing of their arrival can never be anticipated. We press on knowing they will arise because we know there exists the potential for growth, kinship, and love. However, these are not things that are handed to you. They are built through the sweat, tears, and emotional efforts of those who struggle to make a vision a reality and they are maintain by those with the heart and passion to see such a reality endure despite the disagreements and arguments communities and families are expected to have. (To anyone with a sibling or friend cherished like a sibling, have you ever gotten into an argument with said sibling or friend?)

So, my answer to my Moby Dick referenced question is as such: Keep Trying. When the path seems unclear, maybe its time to chart your own path and design a new map. But, there are very few people who can say that they’ve accomplished their goals and brought their dreams to fruition by doing absolutely nothing to make it happen. If  you would like to see a community or build a family, it starts in the mirror. Like a sand castle at the beach, the tools build a community exist all around you, waiting to be built. You need only find the tools to construct and the drive to build.

But anywho, I guess that’s just my perspective. I spent 4 years at Williams College looking for and trying to build a community. I’d say I managed to find one for myself, but there were, and always will be, things that could have been done better.

With all that said, good luck to the newly (but not recently) appointed Williams College Black Student Union board. I hope you do great things in the coming year and manage to find your respective “White Whales.”

Deuces!! 2012: Over and Out!!

One response to “What Do You Make Of This?-Final Post From Me…

  1. You’re awesome…we’ll keep trying to help too. And I literally just watched this video myself…facebook!

Leave a Reply

